Skip to Main Content

Graduate Research Opportunities

Dr. Linda Baker

Professor

baker@umbc.edu

Graduate students who join my Educational Contexts of Development lab will be fully involved in ongoing fMRI work, which in 2014 is likely to include administering assessments, questionnaires, and experimental tasks to research participants on and off campus, coding and entering data, analyzing data, and co-authoring articles and presentations. Students will also have the opportunity to develop their own projects that are compatible with my knowledge and interests.

 

Dr. Robin Barry

Assistant Professor

rbarry@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Danielle Beatty Moody

Assistant Professor

dlbeatty@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Shawn Bediako

Associate Professor

bediako@umbc.edu

Students with particular interests in community health promotion, applied psychology in health settings, and racial/ethnic approaches to health behaviors are especially encouraged to apply.

 

Dr. John Borrero

Associate Professor

jborrero@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Anne Brodsky

Professor and Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

brodsky@umbc.edu

Opportunities in research and applied psychology for graduate students in the CASP and/or Clinical/CASP tracks who are interested in applying qualitative methods to the understanding of resilience, culture, gender, and community.

 

Dr. Charissa Cheah

Associate Professor

ccheah@umbc.edu

Graduate students are provided ample opportunities to contribute to research design on various projects, obtain experience with quantitative and qualitative methodologies, collaborate and lead on publications, network and participate in cross-cultural/international research projects.

 

Dr. Lynnda Dahlquist

Professor

dahlquis@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Nicole Else-Quest

Assistant Professor and Associate Chair

nmeq@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Kenneth Maton

Professor

maton@umbc.edu

1) Minority student achievement (ongoing evaluation and implementation assessment of the Meyerhoff Scholars Program);  2) Applied psychology and social policy (national interview study of psychologists seeking to influence social policy).

 

Dr. Christopher Murphy

Professor and Chair

chmurphy@umbc.edu

Graduate students are involved in both clinical practice training and research in the area of partner abuse; excellent training context for independent, self-motivated students.

 

Dr. Steven Pitts

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

spitts@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Raimi Quiton

Assistant Professor

rquiton1@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Bernard Rabin

Professor

rabin@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Theodore Rosen

Lecturer, Associate Program Director, Shady Grove Program and

Director, MPS Industrial/Organizational Psychology Program

throsen@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Jason Schiffman

Associate Professor

schiffma@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. David Schultz

Associate Professor

dschultz@umbc.edu

Dr. Schultz’ graduate students play critical roles in his ongoing projects. This includes development and evaluation of components of the GOALS program.

 

Dr. Susan Sonnenschein

Associate Professor

sonnensc@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Shuyan Sun

Assistant Professor

suns@umbc.edu

I would like to mentor doctoral students who are interested in quantitative methods or using quantitative methods to study the developmental process of human behaviors.

 

Dr. Shari Waldstein

Professor

waldstei@umbc.edu

Graduate students in Dr. Waldstein’s lab have varied interests, and are encouraged to develop an independent and innovative program of research.  Whereas some students choose to focus on cardiovascular behavioral medicine, others specialize in clinical and medical neuropsychology, and others combine both (see links to lab and students for further description).