UMBC Police phone (410-455-5555) main line is back online.
Skip to Main Content

Research Opportunities

Dr. Linda Baker, Department Chair
baker@umbc.edu | 410-455-2415, MP 311
Children’s literacy development; motivation for reading; parental influences on cognitive development and educational achievement.
Dr. Robin A. Barry
rbarry@umbc.edu | 410-455-2304, MP 326
Research focuses on romantic relationship processes that contribute to individual and relationship well-being and distress with an emphasis on processes through which individuals grow apart from their partner over time.
Dr. Danielle L. Beatty

dlbeatty@umb.edu | 410-455-2426, MP 328

Investigating the influence of psychological and social factors and related biological pathways on the development of cardiovascular disease. Particular emphasis on psychological and social factors that may be most relevant to racial/ethnic minorities.
Dr. Shawn Bediako
bediako@umbc.edu | 410-455-2349, MP 306
Seek to better understand the ways in which sociocultural factors shape psychological adaptation and adjustment to SCD pain. The particular focus will be concerned with the roles played by variables such as racial identity, spirituality, and communalism.
Dr. Thomas Blass
blass@umbc.edu | 410-455-2428, MP 334
Understanding how we perceive others and how we are influenced by them, and especially the question of obedience to authority.
Dr. John Borrero
jborrero@umbc.edu | 410-455-2326, MP 337
Assessment and treatment of behavior disorders (descriptive and experimental analysis), quantitative modeling (matching), quantitative analysis (lag-sequential analysis), behavioral economics (unit price, stimulus value), discounting of delayed events.
Dr. Anne E. Brodsky
brodsky@umbc.edu | 410-455-2416, MP 332
Societal level risks (violence, war, sexism, racism, poverty, etc.) and resilience in the lives of women and women’s communities in urban US and in Afghanistan. Psychological Senses of Community. Qualitative and mixed methods.
Dr. Charissa Cheah
ccheah@umbc.edu | 410-455-1059, MP 330
The study of the interactions between individual, peer and family factors in the social, emotional development and health of children and the exploration of multiple pathways in which cultural factors contribute to social and emotional development.
Dr. Lynnda M. Dahlquist
dahlquis@umbc.edu | 410-455-2411, MP 335
Developing effective psychological treatments for the pain and fear children experience during medical treatment; child and family adjustment to chronic illnesses, such as cancer.
Dr. Robert H. Deluty
deluty@umbc.edu | 410-455-2420, MP 315
How clinical psychologists address moral/ethical issues with their clients; religious beliefs and therapeutic orientations of clinical psychologists.
Dr. Marilyn E. Demorest
demorest@umbc.edu | 410-455-3150, AD 1001B
Assessing the communication and emotional problems of hearing impaired adults and children, and evaluating the benefits of rehabilitation programs.
Dr. Carlo DiClemente
diclemen@umbc.edu | 410-455-2811, MP 340
Addiction in general and drug abuse in particular; alcoholism and alcohol abuse. Health Behavior: Predictors and Risk Factors to Health.
Dr. Jonathan Finkelstein
finkelst@umbc.edu | 410-455-3712, PHYS 329
How we are persuaded, and how our attitudes change; community involvement and community activism.
Dr. Lowell Groninger
groninge@umbc.edu | 410-455-2413, MP 421
Why we forget and how we remember.
Dr. Kenneth Maton
maton@umbc.edu | 410-455-2209, MP 313
Minority student achievement; Empowering community settings; Strengths-based research and policy; Community psychology of religion.
Dr. Christopher Murphy
chmurphy@umbc.edu | 410-455-2367, MP 324
Physical and emotional abuse in intimate adult relationships and on the associations between patterns of marital conflict and children’s psychosocial development.
Dr. Steven Pitts
spitts@umbc.edu | 410-455-2362, MP 323
Development of substance use and abuse from adolescence through young adulthood, including intergenerational transmission of addictive behaviors, developmentally limited substance abuse/dependence, peer influence on normative vs. heavy drinking.
Dr. Robert R. Provine
provine@umbc.edu | 410-455-2419, MP 311
Laughing, crying, tearing, contagion, prenatal behavior, and the development and evolution of the nervous system and behavior, including social behavior.
Dr. Bernard M. Rabin
rabin@umbc.edu | 410-455-2430, MP 308
How learning affects taste preferences and taste aversions.
Dr. Jason Schiffman
schiffma@umbc.edu | 410-455-1574, MP 327
Early identification, detection, and treatment of psychosis.
Dr. David Schultz
dschultz@umbc.edu | 410-455-2414, MP 338
Young children’s emotions and social cognition; development of aggression and peer rejection.
Dr. Siggi Sigurdsson
sos@umbc.edu | 410-455-2417, MP 307
Organizational behavior management.
Dr. Susan Sonnenschein
sonnensc@umbc.edu | 410-455-2361, MP 317
Language and literacy development in children from different sociocultural backgrounds, parents’ and teachers’ influences on children’s cognitive and educational development, parental beliefs and practices.
Dr. Laura Stapleton
lstaplet@umbc.edu | 410-455-3704, MP 325
Measurement of attitudes and behavior; survey data collection and statistical modeling. (Will do statistics for coffee).
Dr. Shari Waldstein
waldstei@umbc.edu | 410-455-2374, MP 329
Influence of cardiovascular risk factors, cardiovascular reactivity, and cardiovascular diseases on neurocognitive performance and underlying brain structure and function. How biological, behavioral, psychological, and social factors influence cardiovascular reactivity and the development of cardiovascular disease.
Dr. Zoe Warwick
warwick@umbc.edu | 410-455-2360, MP 316
Learned and unlearned controls of eating causes and consequences of consuming a high-fat diet.