Campus will lose power at 10:45. Classes cancelled, campus closed. Reopen for events at 4. Updates to follow.
Skip to Main Content

Undergraduate Research Opportunities

Dr. Diane Alonso

Senior Lecturer and Director, Shady Grove Program

dalonso@umbc.edu

I generally work with a very limited number of highly motivated students each year at the Shady Grove campus in Rockville, mentoring them as they design, develop, run, and present independent research projects. Interested UMBC Psychology students at the USG campus, who have shown outstanding capacity for doing independent work and who have successfully completed both semesters of their Experimental Psychology: Design and Analysis courses may contact me via email at dalonso@umbc.edu.

 

Dr. Linda Baker

Professor

baker@umbc.edu

Students who join my Educational Contexts of Development lab will be involved in administering assessments, questionnaires, and experimental tasks to research participants on and off campus (including the fMRI facility), coding and entering data, and working collaboratively with members of the research team on other tasks that arise. Prospective research assistants may contact me via e-mail with a statement of interest.

 

Dr. Robin Barry

Assistant Professor

rbarry@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Danielle Beatty Moody

Assistant Professor

dlbeatty@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Shawn Bediako

Associate Professor

bediako@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

Interested students should contact Dr. Bediako directly via email

 

Dr. Thomas Blass

Professor

blass@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

Within the framework of Psyc 397 or Psyc 490, research related to the work of Stanley Milgram or other areas of mutual interest.  Students should email me.

 

Dr. John Borrero

Associate Professor

jborrero@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

Undergraduates interested in joining our team must have completed PSYC 210 (Psychology of Learning)

 

Dr. Anne Brodsky

Professor and Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

brodsky@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Charissa Cheah

Associate Professor

ccheah@umbc.edu

Undergraduate research assistants can obtain experiences in data collection (interviewing parents and children, questionnaire assessments, observations of behaviors), data entry and management, library research, involvement in conference presentations and publications, and conducting independent research projects.

 

Dr. Lynnda Dahlquist

Professor

dahlquis@umbc.edu

We have an active undergraduate research lab, with many research opportunities during fall and spring semesters as well as over the summer.  A two-semester commitment is required.  Interested students should email Dr. Dahlquist to arrange for an interview.  Please include your GPA, a resume and statement of interest in your email.

 

Dr. Carlo DiClemente

Professor

diclemen@umbc.edu

Opportunities for assisting in research and center projects are available as well as for honor theses and presentations.  Undergraduates work I a variety of capacities: literature searches, entering data, updating web pages, assisting in organizing training materials and lab tasks, assisting with grad student research projects and some lab research projects.

 

Dr. Nicole Else-Quest

Assistant Professor and Associate Chair

nmeq@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Kenneth Maton

Professor

maton@umbc.edu

1) Minority student achievement (ongoing evaluation and implementation assessment of the Meyerhoff Scholars Program);  2) Applied psychology and social policy (national interview study of psychologists seeking to influence social policy).

 

Dr. Christopher Murphy

Professor and Chair

chmurphy@umbc.edu

Varied tasks include literature searches, therapy session coding, data management, and phone outreach to survivors of intimate partner violence, analysis of archival data from clinical studies.

 

Dr. Raimi Quiton

Assistant Professor

rquiton1@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Bernard Rabin

Professor

rabin@umbc.edu

Undergraduate opportunities available

 

Dr. Jason Schiffman

Associate Professor

schiffma@umbc.edu

Graduate opportunities available

 

Dr. David Schultz

Associate Professor

dschultz@umbc.edu

Each semester Dr. Schultz typically has 15-30 undergraduate research assistants on his intervention and evaluation team. If interested in joining his team in the upcoming semester, send him an e-mail (dschultz@umbc.edu) during the pre-registration period.

 

Dr. Susan Sonnenschein

Associate Professor

sonnensc@umbc.edu

Undergraduates can assist with all phases of the research, including: coding and analyzing data, library research, interviewing parents/children, assessing children’s competencies. Contact: sonnensc@umbc.edu

 

Dr. Shuyan Sun

Assistant Professor

suns@umbc.edu

Please email Dr. Sun if you love statistics and are interested in analyzing a large dataset on the effects of social contexts on child development.

 

Dr. Shari Waldstein

Professor

waldstei@umbc.edu

Undergraduate students assist in our research by engagement in ongoing tasks such as data coding and entry, and literature searches and review. Depending on the requirements of specific projects and students’ background and skills, there may be opportunities to work with research participants, and to develop an independent project with existing data.